RSS

I no what I need

19 Jan

Yes I do not have years of nursing training, but I no what my body needs. When I attend the main A&E they now staple all of my wounds as I have mentioned before, if I can’t get to the main A&E (it is 45 mins on the bus) I go to the minor injuries unit. Again there they will no longer stitch my wounds, but do not have a stapler, so they now try their best with skin links and glue, which although not ideal, is what I have to settle for. The other day though I had 2 very deep wounds on my upper arm, the nurse refused point blank to stitch them as ‘that was what I wanted’, instead she spent over an hour trying over and over again to use skin links and glue. She was utterly determined that they were going to work. Eventually she managed to close the wounds, but I said I was concerned it would not hold due to the amount of stretching and movement that takes place in that area. She just wanted me out, so I left. Well over the last few days they started to come loose, every movement I could feel them pulling. Then this morning the wounds completely opened up. I am cross, yes my body is already a mess, surely I shouldn’t be bothered, but I am. She spent a longer amount of time messing around determined she was going to close the wounds her way, she could have stitched them in that time, but no. I no what works and what doesn’t on my body, I wish sometimes they would listen to me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 19/01/2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “I no what I need

  1. Dawny

    19/01/2012 at 10:50 pm

    So sad to hear you are being treated this way. Of course you know what you need and it’s scandalous that it’s falling on stubborn, deaf ears :0)

    Hold on to the thought that soon you will be in treatment…. The waiting is agonising but it WILL happen.

    Thinking of you and willing you strength to get through.

    xxxxx

     
    • tinyratty

      19/01/2012 at 10:55 pm

      Thanks Dawn, she was determined there was no way she was going to stitch them, at one point she had to tightly bandage it & leave it for 10 mins as it was bleeding to much for the skin links to stick. She just wouldn’t listen.xxx

       
  2. sarahrawr

    21/01/2012 at 12:48 am

    I understand your frustration, i had a similar experience recently and was told by the HCA giving us stitches only encourages us to go back. i have taken great pleasure in writing a massive letter of complaint about her ignorance!

     

Leave a Reply

 
