RSS

Mental Health and the police

09 Jan

I have been section 136’d over 4 times, the other day I was arrested for anti social behaviour and that was due to mental health reasons, but as I was in my own flat they could not 136 me. Some police officers are lovely and really do care and treat you with dignity and respect, but others, well they treat you like a waste of space, like you are an annoyance. I have spent far to many nights in a police cell waiting for help, being treated like a criminal, all because I was ill, my local 136 suite I managed to be taken to twice,the rest of times have always been a police cell.

It is not their fault,they don’t have the training and understanding in mental health, but when you are going through a crisis, the last thing you need is police officers wrestling you to the ground, handcuffing you and chucking you in the back of a van.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 09/01/2013 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Mental Health and the police

  1. Will

    09/01/2013 at 7:58 pm

    Thought we’d got beyond that type of treatment to be honest. Unless you were trying to strike the officer, there really isn’t a reason to handcuff you and chuck you in a van. Seems like a lack of Police resources maybe, like no cars to transport you. I wouldn’t like to be in the middle of a crisis and be treated like that! Poor you 😦 x

     
    • tinyratty

      09/01/2013 at 8:00 pm

      Unfortunately I have been handcuffed and thrown in a van far to many times,but hey ho,thats life and all,x

       
  2. Yvonne Madden

    09/01/2013 at 8:41 pm

    I’m pretty surprised you can come on here and write all these updates,in what must be an obvious calm to be collected enough and have objective insight into your situation and what you deem to be numerous ‘crisis’s’. It sounds that you are *slightly* using mental illness as an excuse to act in an outlandish way.

    Please don’t bother telling me that I ‘do not understand Mental Health’ etc because in general,I do.

    Amy,being harsh and frank about it,it doesn’t seem like you’re using the resources available to you to your advantage and benefit.You are so LUCKY to have had the help you’ve gotten.Do you know how many people in the UK DON’T have access to your treatment?

    You won’t always have somebody to flee to your rescue and it doesn’t sound like you’re utilisng any of your skills to rescue yourself.What is this?You’ve been discharged,you have support,you have a new lease of life and you’re throwing it away already???

     
    • tinyratty

      09/01/2013 at 9:26 pm

      If I could make myself better I really would, I thought you would understand that more than any body seeing as all you went through with your bulimia. If I had have told you to just stop when you were at your worst would you have been able to?

      I have had help and am continuing to get help, but sometimes things just become to over whelming. I want to live a proper life, not the way I am, but I still am learning how to achieve that.

       
      • Yvonne Madden

        09/01/2013 at 9:40 pm

        you’re not hearing me.im not trying to me cruel – im trying to help open your mind again.i know your potential,i know with your mind that with all its strength it can be used in favour of your recovery.i DO understand to a degree,i know ill never fully understand what its like for you. i know youre learning and growing but i refuse to believe that what is happening after discharge is OK for you.its not.your standards are higher and looking from the outside in i believe that u can use tools that u have SO much better if u really want to.

         
  3. Carrie (@EscapingEntropy)

    09/01/2013 at 9:11 pm

    Yvonne, if you’re not going to say anything remotely useful/helpful why not keep your opinion to yourself? Amy is trying her best. Just because she has the resources now doesn’t mean she’s just going to magically feel better, it takes time.

    Take care Amy xx

     
    • Yvonne Madden

      09/01/2013 at 9:42 pm

      i never said anything about magically feeling better.and i dont see how my comment couldnt be useful.sometimes hard facts and personal opinions are appropriate and because this is an open blog and because ive followed amy and have some sort of snapshot into her life i dont see why i cant comment. it certainly isn’t ‘remotely’ unhelpful and in fact its a positive comment as much it is negative.

       
      • Carrie (@EscapingEntropy)

        09/01/2013 at 9:54 pm

        You’re perfectly entitled to comment (as you mentioned it is an open blog). You seem to have the best of intentions but I read your comment as a bit of a ‘tough love’ approach, which I’m sure Amy has been subjected to before. You also questioned whether she was using her mental illness as an excuse, which I thought was offensive because from what I know of Amy she is trying her hardest to get better.

        Anyhoo, maybe we’ll just have to agree to disagree 🙂

         
  4. Yvonne Madden

    09/01/2013 at 10:36 pm

    yup,agree to disagree i guess.its not my style to offend people,not alone amy,i know you suffer greatly amy..there are situations where a person can use mental illness as an excuse,some backhandedly.im sure i myself must have at some point. amy is the only person to know truly if that might/does/has ever applied to her.

     

Leave a Reply

 
